How to Make Vegan Eggnog (and a Holiday Variation)

By Ashley Ess in Healthy Feeling

The name of this classic winter beverage may contain the word "egg," but don't let that deter you from the delights of this seasonal drink if you're a vegan. Yes, it is possible to enjoy creamy, delicious vegan eggnog. After all, this lovely libation has certainly seen its share of ingredient modifications over the centuries.


History of Eggnog


Believed to have originated in medieval Europe, eggnog may have begun as posset, a warm ale mixed with figs and eggs, reports TIME. Eventually, through select variations and the addition of sherry and milk, it was considered a drink of prosperity, due to the scarcity of milk and eggs in Europe at the time. When it reached what would become the United States, rum became a signature ingredient. Today, people of all ages enjoy eggnog, with the non-alcoholic version being a hit with children.


So, how can you make a plant-based version of this festive drink without compromising its creamy texture and delicious flavor? Turns out there are plenty of substitutes that will leave you satisfied and won't compromise the eggnog's integrity. With the right ingredients, you can indulge in an eggless eggnog that will make you wonder how you weren't introduced to this vegan wonder sooner!


four servings of vegan eggnog served in martini glasses


Vegan Eggnog Recipe


This vegan eggnog is rich, creamy, and tasty. It is flavorful on its own, but you can also add bourbon or rum to give it a little kick.


Here's what you'll need:


  • 2 cups unsweetened cashew milk
  • 1 cup full-fat culinary coconut milk (be sure to mix the cream with liquid before measuring)
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 3-6 pitted medjool dates, depending on sweetness preference
  • ½ tsp. ground nutmeg
  • ½ tsp. sea salt
  • pinch of ground cinnamon
  • pinch of ground cloves
  • 2-4 oz. bourbon or spiced rum (optional)
  • cinnamon sticks


Place all ingredients except the bourbon or rum and cinnamon sticks in a blender. Blend until smooth and creamy. Test the sweetness and spices and make adjustments, if necessary. If desired, add the bourbon or rum and blend quickly. Chill for one to two hours before serving. Garnish with cinnamon sticks and sprinkled cinnamon.


cinnamon sticks for vegan eggnog


Vegan Pumpkin Spice Eggnog


For a holiday variation, try vegan pumpkin spice eggnog. Use the recipe above as a base, omitting the ground cinnamon and cloves. Then add these additional ingredients:


  • ⅓ cup pumpkin puree
  • ½ tsp. pumpkin pie spice
  • additional coconut or cashew milk, if needed for consistency


Blend the ingredients together, adding the alcohol at the end if desired. Serve the chilled, spiced eggnog at your holiday table with a slice of pie or festive cookies.


What are some of your favorite vegan eggnog recipes? Tell us on Twitter!


Image Sources: Flickr | Flickr | Pixabay


The views and opinions expressed in any guest post featured on our site are those of the guest author and do not necessarily reflect the opinions and views of Tom's of Maine.


Why It's Good

With so many plant-based ingredient substitutes available, seasonal staples like eggnog can easily be made at home with vegan ingredients without compromising flavor. Your non-vegan family members and friends won't even taste the difference!